What are the consequences of a DUI in Georgia? Can you lose your job? Can you lose your driver’s license? These are some of the questions that clients approach us with at the LaScala Law Firm. If you have any of these questions look no further than this article.
Being up to date with the penalties for a DUI is a prudent thing to do, even if you or someone you know has not been charged. Georgia laws are stringent when it comes to DUI so being aware of the consequences is key.
A DUI attorney can help you navigate the complicated state laws. The LaScala Firm will fight for reduced fines and sentences on your behalf. As a former prosecutor, Michael LaScala knows the local and state laws and how to handle DUI cases. Call (404) 881-8866 for a free consultation from The LaScala Firm.
What is considered a DUI in Georgia?
What is considered a DUI in Georgia? Simply put this is what the State of Georgia considers a DUI:
- You have a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of 0.02 percent or higher and you are younger than 21.
- Your BAC is 0.08 percent or higher and you are 21 or older.
- Your BAC is 0.04 percent or higher and you are a commercial driver older than 21.
- You refuse to take the DUI test.
These are the specifics of what the state will use to suspend your license if driving under the influence of alcohol. Of course, the state can charge you with being under the impairing effects of other substances, legal or not. Depending on the substance it can be hard for the state to prove negligence on the part of the driver.
What are the consequences of a DUI in Georgia?
A DUI is not the end of the world for a Georgia driver, but there are some serious consequences to consider. Georgia has about 308 DUI arrests per 100k people. That’s about 19,000 convictions per year for 1st, 2nd, and 3rd time offenses. There are key differences between 1st and 2nd time DUI offenses and these are the two most common offenses.
Can you lose your job?
- There is no state or federal job stating that a person convicted or charged with a DUI has to automatically report their charge to their employer.
- However, if your job deals with driving or if your employment policy states that you must disclose a DUI charge, then a DUI charge could affect your employment.
Will you lose your driver’s license?
- The Georgia Department of Driver Services or DDS for short can suspend your license for up to a year if you are charged with a first time DUI.
- Getting your license back in less than a year can be costly, it can involve an ignition interlock device, risk reduction classes, and alcohol counseling. All of these at the expense of the driver.
It is important to know what your legal options are following a DUI arrest. Acting quickly can mean lesser penalties. Georgia has a limited time frame to apply for a limited driver’s license. Review common questions to ask an Atlanta DUI lawyer to find out more about DUI charges in Georgia. Call The LaScala Firm for a free consultation at (404) 881-8866.